Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique

The French CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) participates in ACTPHAST through four research laboratories:

  1. Laboratoire Hubert Curien (CNRS-LabHC) at Saint-Etienne (gathering more than 140 co-workers)
  2. Laboratoire Charles Fabry (CNRS-LCF) at Palaiseau (180 co-workers)
  3. National Centre of Technological Research on materials (CNRS-CNRT Matériaux) at Caen, hosting 53 researchers and 41 engineers and technicians
  4. FEMTO-ST Institut (CNRS-FEMTO ST) at Besancon. The Institute FEMTO-ST is a joint research unit affiliated to the CNRS, Université de Franche-Comté, ENSMM and UTBM.
  5. Institut Fresnel, CNRS-IF, is affiliated at CNRS, Aix-Marseille University and Centrale Marseille. This joint research laboratory is gathering about 180 people working in the field of optics and photonics at Marseille.

CNRS-LabHC, CNRS-LCFIO, and CNRS-FEMTO are joint research units “unités mixtes de recherche” between CNRS and higher education and research institutions, in this case the Université Jean Monnet de Saint-Etienne for CNRS-LabHC, the Institut d’Optique-Graduate School in cooperation with the Université Paris-Sud XI for CNRSLCF, and the Université de Franche-Comté for CNRS-FEMTO. CNRS-CNRT Materiaux is a joint unit for Research Services, between CNRS and ENSICAEN and the Universities of Caen Basse-Normandie and Le Havre.
CNRS contributes to the co-ordination and management tasks of ACTPHAST with 1 member in the ACTPHAST Executive Board, 1 member of the Technical Coordination Team, 1 Local Outreach Coordinator.